Thread: What did I do wrong?

ARIJIT BANERJEE

Default What did I do wrong?

Hello,
    I am new to digital, very new to DSLR and an absolute greenhorn.

I took this image of a Lesser Whistling Duck In Santragachi, near Kolkata. The time was late afternoon, it was overcast and very dusty.

Could the image have been sharper? Where all did I err?

I would appreciate if expert moderators kindly advise.

Pentax Kx
    ExposureTime : 1/200Sec
    FNumber : F5.8
    ExposureProgram : Aperture Priority
    ISOSpeedRatings : 400
    ExifVersion : 0221
    DateTimeOriginal : 2009:12:10 16:02:18
    DateTimeDigitized : 2009:12:10 16:02:18
    ComponentConfiguration : YCbCr
    ExposureBiasValue : EV0.0
    MeteringMode : Division
    Flash : Not fired(Compulsory)
    FocalLength : 300.00(mm)
    FlashPixVersion : 0100
    ColorSpace : sRGB
    ExifImageWidth : 4288
    ExifImageHeight : 2848
    SensingMethod : OneChipColorArea sensor
    CustomRendered : Normal process
    ExposureMode : Auto
    WhiteBalance : Auto
    FocalLength(35mm) : 450(mm)
    SceneCaptureType : Standard
    Contrast : Normal
    Saturation : Normal
    Sharpness : Normal
    SubjectDistanceRange : Distant view
    Last edited by Doug Brown; 12-28-2009 at 06:03 AM.

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Arijit:

Welcome to BPN! It is a great place to learn.

An attractive pair of ducks, with good reflections because the water was still. The rear bird would have looked better if the head was turned towards us a bit. You will see 'head angle' mentioned a lot on this site.

The ducks do appear soft (not in critically sharp focus). I noted your shutter speed, which for moving subjects generally isn't enough. Even with a tripod, your yield of sharp images at this shutter speed on moving subjects will be low. I would have suggested a higher ISO setting, to give yourself some flexibility about shutter speed.