Thread: Boyd's forest dragon detail

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Boyd's forest dragon detail

Attached Images Attached Images

A closer view at part of the Boyd's forest dragon I posted last week. You can't get closer than about 2m to these guys, so it is really interesting (for me) to look at the details you can't see with the naked eye. The little spurs on the neck, and particularly the scales down to the finger tips I think are really interesting.
    420mm, 1/200, f13, ISO400, Light from flash.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Greg -- What a beautiful subject . I am no expert in using flashes but it has provided very nice details. But some of the hls are strong especially the protruding white spots. I have some reservations about the reflection in its eye and also the shimmering tree trunk . nicely done.
    Lets see what others have to say.

TFS !

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Another very detailed image Greg, I like it very much. I think I would investigate lifting the darker tones just to see if improves presentation.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Very nice detail. The patterns and sharpes on ths dragon are very neat.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Thanks for the comments.
    Haseeb - I think what you see in the eye is the reflection of the flash, and there was probably more than one flashlight also on. But in general this suffers because it was wet, on the trunk you see this in particular, as well as on the scales, and it it the reflections of the flash. I tried to control it in post, but with little success. I did not have the opportunity here, but in other situations I have used flash at an angle, rather than on the hotshoe, that may have helped also.