Thread: Black-bellied Plover smiling

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Black-bellied Plover smiling

Attached Images Attached Images

This sleepy Black-bellied Plover was photographed on the morning of November 18th at Fort Desoto park in Florida with the Canon 7D mark ii and the Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS ii handheld.

ISO 200
    AV f/7.1
    TV 1/800
    Focal Length 400mm
    Manual exposure/ AI Servo/ AF point expansion / rear button focus
    The AF point selected is centered to include the eye and most of the bill.

The image was processed in DPP4 and PScc. Here is a short rundown of what I did to process:

1) leveled the image
    2) cropped about 5% on the left side to exclude a piece of grass
    3) cleaned a specular highlight in the grass directly above the bird using the patch tool
    4) used the Nik detail extractor on the bird at a reduced opacity

This is my first attempt at resizing an image from Photoshop and not LR (not sure if I got this part correct yet). Thanks for taking a look.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

I like shorebird images like this. Simple and clean. I think the few grasses on the left are a nice plus.

I don't think the bird is sharp enough but that could be from how you downsized I guess? The whites of the belly look a little too gray to me and you have one hot spot on the lower flanks and one on the throat.

When you finish an image and are ready to sharpen, you should do the following.