Thread: Splendid Fairy Wren.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Splendid Fairy Wren.

Attached Images Attached Images

Hi all.
    This is my first post here.
    7D, 400L, f/7.1, s/s1/125, iso 400, tripod.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Welcome Ray! Yet another Aussie.

What a fabulous first post. The beautiful little wren in his shades of electric blue and violet. I love the pose on the banksia cone and the lovely BG. I feel he is a little bright on the top of his head...and just a tiny bit of blurring on the tip of his tail. Knowing how these little guys dart around, you've done very, very well! Is that a spider web, or whiskers in his beak? Looking at your techs, I would have to say you maybe could have a faster shutter speed?

I'm new to critiquing Ray, so take everything I say with a grain of salt. I have learnt so much since I've been on the BPN ETL. Still a long way to go.

Can't wait to see more.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Excellent Ray, love the perch and the BG is very nice. As Glennie mentioned the top of the head might benefit from bringing the whites down just a little but not a major issue at all as I still see details on top. What a gorgeous bird!

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Ray, and welcome!! A nice little beauty!

Good points raised above. What was your processing -- that's as important as capture these days.

Look like motion blur on the tail -- balancing shutter speed, ISO and aperture drives us all crazy.
    Last edited by Diane Miller; 12-19-2015 at 03:59 PM.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Thanks everyone.
    Diane, my processing skills leave a little to be desired. I use Gimp, and aren't that good at it. My pics usually get cropped and sharpened and thats about it.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts