Thread: First post…..Rufus-crowned Sparrow

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default First post…..Rufus-crowned Sparrow

Attached Images Attached Images

Hi all, this is my first post. I have been doing birds for about 9 months with Canon 7d, 100-400 L lens. I am really trying to work on focus (sharpness) and backgrounds. I feel like this is one of my better efforts, lately. I am really looking forward to feedback now and in the future. Shot with AP and: 1/2500, f/7.1, ISO 640 and 400mm. It is cropped about 50% and no other changes.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Willie, and welcome! This is the place to learn!

Especially here in ETL, giving processing information is as important as shooting info. The bird looks just a little on the dark side, and sharpness, although not bad, could probably be improved a little in the future. Were you using just the center AF point? On a tripod? Being careful to "expose to the right"?

The best thing for sharpness is to get close enough to the subject that you don't have to crop. There is really no good way to "sharpen" a slightly soft image. And the way in which the JPEG is prepared, with resizing and export parameters is also important. You'll find a lot of great information here if you dig around the various posts. If you are especially interested in birds, you'll find a lot of information in the Avian forum.

I think the image would be a little more interesting with the bird moved off center a little, by cropping some off the top and right, but it's an excellent first post!
    Last edited by Diane Miller; 01-06-2014 at 04:53 PM.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts