Thread: new old canon setup, thoughts?

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default new old canon setup, thoughts?

hello everyone!!!

I am totally new here. I am also totally new to canon, and have a few questions. have been shooting birds for 5plus years with a sony dslr and 150-500. I shoot on a tripod, (ball head...) with a better-beamed flash. to get SHARP results, I need to go down to F9!!! anyway, I have decided to sell everything and start again with canon. I am thinking of doing the following- btw I am young and on a TIGHT budget of "as little as possible"

selling all proprietary sony gear to adorama,

buy a used 1dii and a new 400 5.6 prime

also find a used 40d for more "croppablity"

shoot with the a 1.4 ii or iii

also thinking about a lensmaster RH1 half gimbal, as I detest my cheapo ball head.

the questions are as follows- how will the 1dii deal with noise?

how much can I crop with a 8mp 1dii? (thats half the mp of my sony...)

can I af with the 400 plus 1.4 tc with the 1dii

what are the cheapest suitable tripod legs for a stable equivalent of 800mm plus?

ALSO

I realize that this setup will be effectively shorter than my sony, so what can I do to get closer to the birds? techniques? tips?

thank you so much for your time reading this, I appreciate any and all thoughts and ideas. yep!

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

The people that I shoot with are either using Canon, Nikon or Sony. The Sony guys are getting stellar results, thanks largely to those super sensors. I worry that you'll actually take a big step backward. Having an actual 500mm of reach and giving up 20% to go down to a 400mm just doesn't make sense to me.

Is there a teleconverter available for you 150-500mm? I'd investigate that first.

I shoot Canon, but mostly the latest generation stuff, like the 5D MkIII, which I combine with a 500/f4 and a 2.0x TC-III.