Thread: Resizing an image

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Resizing an image

I recently posted a bird shot that received two fairly favorable posts, however both mentioned posting a larger image. In this case, I got a message that indicated the image was too large, and by the time the post was allowed...after making it smaller and smaller...it was quite small. 635 x 381, 252KB. Any suggestions as to how to post it larger? I have absolutely no tech training and I'm totally self taught, so any information is greatly appreciated.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

What software are you using for post processing your images?

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Photoshop CS4

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Here is one way I dug up. If this previous post doesn't help I will either clarify or someone else will.

http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...ng-for-posting

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Thanks so much...it worked and I learned something new...which is always a good thing.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Attached Images Attached Images

Hey Robert. This is the way I do it. Image >Image Size > Re-size > DPI 72, long side 800 > OK ------- File > Save For Web > Adjust quality slider so size of image is less than 200k. > Save. I included a screen shot. Hope this helps.

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Similar to above answers but I use CS2. When I save an image as jpg it gives me "quality" settings. The hihger the "quality" the larger the file size in KBs
    Don't know hnow CS4 does this but I'd assume it has something similar. Typically when posting to BPN I use a quality of 6 and this keeps a 1020 pixel file within the 250KB limit.
    Here's what that jpg quality setting looks like in CS2 -
    Name:  jpegq.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  55.5 KB

Tom

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts