Thread: how to find Birds? LOL

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default how to find Birds? LOL

Alright So I'm a little new to photographing birds in Tennessee I was in Florida where it seemed I could go to any beach and find amazing birds to photograph. Since trying to shot birds here I cant fine any in real numbers and seem to have a hard time getting anywhere close to them. I'm using a Nikon 500mm f/4 and a DX body (so really 750mm). my question is with all you wonderful birders on here how do you do it? Do you typically use blinds and just sit and wait? are some of you baiting? go to the local zoo's lol. I just want to get closer and have some amazing shot. Thanks Paul

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

As far as finding birds, I use a couple of resources...

1. Bird watching clubs. Usually their sites will have news on where they've been and links to other birding areas.
    2. Newspapers. My paper has a weekly column about the local birding hotspots.

As far as getting close...I've used blinds. I've scouted areas beforehand and picked a spot to settle down
    at. I've also gone the down on your stomach approach. I've also just walked a trail just looking. Pretty much,
    you name it, I've done it.

My best advice is to just keep on practicing and go slow n easy.

If you're trying to approach a bird, take a shot, then move. This way in case the bird does take off,
    you still might have something useable.

Try and research the birds you might encounter. For example, you might discover that Bird A is more
    approachable than Bird B.

Doug

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Paul- All this is not easy, that's why it's so rewarding and so much fun! Not sure when you were in FL but that place is a hard act to follow. Though extensively developed, it is still an incredible place for birds, and they seem to be very accessible and tolerant of people.