Thread: PLEASE HELP--500mm AF Wont lock focus instantly on my 7D

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default PLEASE HELP--500mm AF Wont lock focus instantly on my 7D

Hi,

Yesterday I acquired a used 500mm in great shape.

when I took it out to test its functions and working condition, I noticed that the AF wont budge instantly. I had to move the focus ring manually close to the focus plane then the AF would move quickly and lock perfectly. This did not happen consistently. some times the focus moved and from infinity to a very close subject and locked quickly. But sometimes I had to prefocus manually (or at least move the focus ring) to get the AF going. Is this normal for this lens and canon 7D?

I have never used this lens before so I would not know. If its a problem then I would have to return the lens(took me years to save up and but a used one in the first place). The seller is reputed and did not mention this in his description. what AF and IS settings do I need to be looking at on the lens or the camera.

Please help.

Threads
    Thank You Posts

most likely it is operator error. You need to set the focus limiter switch on the lens and turn focus search option in your camera to ON.
    New! Sony Capture One Pro Guide 2022
    https://arihazeghiphotography.com/Gu.../Sony_C1P.html

------------------------------------------------
    Visit my blog
    http://www.arihazeghiphotography.com/blog

3. Thanks Amol Khedgikar thanked for this post
    Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Amol,