Thread: Mr. Lover lover

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Mr. Lover lover

Hi,

I had uploaded this to ETL, however I think it is not possible to open the link so I will try again here.

Last Saturday I had just taken a series of pictures of a Flamingo in flight when I had turned and the "mounting act" was just staring so I dropped to my knees while focusing and fired away only having the time to change the SS settings. Picture was cropped and slightly worked on in lightroom.
    I appreciate your comments on what to improve next time. As I am new to birding I don't have much experience and I don't know what kind of bird it is so if anyone knows please let me know.

@MOD, please delete the thread in ETL, thank you and sorry for the trouble.

Thanks in advance
    Niels

EXIF info, 5D Mark iii, EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6L IS USM + 1.4 TC, focal length 500mm at F11, ISO 600, SS 1/800 free hand

Name:  Mr. Lover Lover.jpg
Views: 12718
Size:  368.0 KB

Threads
    Thank You Posts

you got the nice mating behavior, good composition too but the harsh light is holding this frame back. The blacks have lost detail as a result of deep shadows and I wish the pupils were lit. Try to photograph when the sun is lower in the sky and ideally directly behind you

TFS
    New! Sony Capture One Pro Guide 2022
    https://arihazeghiphotography.com/Gu.../Sony_C1P.html

------------------------------------------------
    Visit my blog
    http://www.arihazeghiphotography.com/blog

3. Thanks Niels Hag thanked for this post
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

You have nice mating behaviour, and you did well to get a balanced vertical composition for this scene. I am really liking the water and the quality of its little waves. Good poses by both individuals. The main issue is the light - its quality (harsh) and angle (with shadows on the faces and the eyes left in the "dark").

I'm not an expert in Old World birds but these seem to be Black-winged Stilts.