Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CS 5 Security flaw - You have to PAY for the fix!

  1. #1
    Astrogeek Chris Ober's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas, Ya'll
    Posts
    1,491
    Threads
    108
    Thank You Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default CS 5 Security flaw - You have to PAY for the fix!

    https://www.adobe.com/support/securi...apsb12-11.html

    First they change their upgrade rules now they want to force you to upgrade to fix a security flaw in version that was current not that long ago? Nice, Adobe, just nice...
    Chris

    "You can't fix stupid."

    - Ron White


    0 .· ` ' / ·. 100
    I have a high sarcasm rate. Deal with it.
    include('sarcasm.php')

  2. Thanks Ed Cordes thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Forum Participant
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lexington SC
    Posts
    68
    Threads
    3
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Adobe s getting a little greedy.

  4. #3
    BPN Member Dan Brown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,404
    Threads
    488
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Poole View Post
    Adobe s getting a little greedy.
    Yeah, the upgrade cost $100 more than the recent total cost of CS5 (on sale)!! Oh and you better get CS6 or you will be hack attacked!!

  5. #4
    Forum Participant Ed Cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    2,508
    Threads
    208
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Could someone explain what exactly happens if the security of our system is compromised and how this occurs. It seems as if you must place something into CS5 for it to execute?

  6. #5
    Banned Ken Watkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greyton, South Africa
    Posts
    6,438
    Threads
    970
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Not that I would ever wish to be seen as supportive too Adobe, but it appears that patches will be issued for free.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1166...uite_apps.html

  7. #6
    Forum Participant Ed Cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    2,508
    Threads
    208
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Good news. It seems you have to open an external TIFF or at leasta TIFF that is sent to you for your system to be infected.

  8. #7
    BPN Member Roger Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,956
    Threads
    257
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Some web searching showed a similar flaw in CS4 in 2010 and Adobe recommended upgrading to CS5. The current flaw is a buffer overrun were a tiff that causes the overrun can write over program code so that new (malicious) code could be executed. Very sloppy programming if you ask me, especially for this day and age. It appears (from web searches) that the latest problem was reported by Protek Research Lab in September 2011, so over 6-months ago. Pretty bad for Adobe to wait so long. Wow.

    Roger

  9. #8
    Forum Participant
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lexington SC
    Posts
    68
    Threads
    3
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Hold on, just announced ;
    Adobe has apparently changed its mind about requiring customers to pay to get recent security patches for its Photoshop, Illustrator, and Flash Professional products.
    http://news.cnet.com/8301-1009_3-57433231-83/adobe-will-issue-security-fixes-for-cs5-apps-after-all/

    http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/12/a...ilities-patch/
    Last edited by Chris Poole; 05-13-2012 at 09:08 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Web Analytics