Thread: Selective Sharpening in Photoshop CS

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Selective Sharpening in Photoshop CS

Hello there! I was hoping some of you wise folks could enlighten me...I'm looking for some good selective sharpening techniques to be used in Photoshop CS. My self-taught approach (and please feel free to laugh in my face, I can take it) is to make a selection with the magic wand or lasso, copy the selection to a new layer and apply the unsharp mask on that layer. Then, I play with the layer's opacity slider to get the right look. I hope this makes sense? My learning disability makes it difficult for me to write about such things with clarity. Anyhow, I have a feeling there's a better way to do this, perhaps with quick masks, which is something I know very little about. I'd appreciate any tips you folks might have. I hope this isn't a pesky message? I think others on the forum will be grateful for some information also...
    Many thanks,
    Jack Breakfast

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Jack,

There are many, many ways to selectively sharpen an image. I prefer to use edge masks with blend modes....but that is getting a bit involved.

Here is one quick easy method.

Duplicate the background layer (Cmd J), change layer blend mode to Luminosity (Alt Shift Y), convert to Filter > Smart filter, change layer opacity to 65%, Apply sharpening (click on the image layer, not the mask), Add a blk layer mask (Alt click the add a layer mask icon) hiding sharpening, select the brush tool with white foreground color (reveals sharpening)....by painting on the mask with a white brush you can selectively apply sharpening to areas desired. You can alter the sharpening effect by changing the brush opacity, size of the brush, hard/soft edge. You can globally increase or decrease the sharpening with layer opacity, and/or by double clicking on the sharpen filter name in layers you can reopen the sharpen dialog box and alter the parameters.

Chas

Threads