Thread: St. Louis Basilica, First HDR attempt

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default St. Louis Basilica, First HDR attempt

Attached Images Attached Images

This is my first attempt at HDR. The Image was taken at the Basilica here in St. Louis. It houses the largest indoor continuous mural in the world, or so I was told. The lighting is quite dark, with incandescent spots and some floor lamps to feature the art work. This image depicts the ornate ceiling of one of the four Chapels that flank the main hall.

Nikon D3s
    112mm
    f/14
    ISO 400
    Tripod

5-stitch image each +/- 1 stop. NIK HDR Efex Pro. I used the Natural Processing Setting. Lots of light balancing to highlight/lowlight architectural elements. Comments, please.............

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

This is outstanding, Jay. The competing, receding arches are sure an attractive composition for me. Not to mention the beautiful art. The bottom partial, flat pictorial element is a nice counterpoint to the ceiling patterns. Excellent use of HDR!

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

I like this, Jay. You've captured it well, and I think you did a great job of processing. My philosophy in doing HDR is to get a good histogram rather than to achieve a strange effect, and you've done that very well. The darkness of the foreground is probably a matter of personal taste. I think it helps to frame the rest of the image nicely. And, although it reveals detail, it doesn't compete with the rest of the image.

Robert Amoruso

Jay,

I like the composition though I feel a bit more room on the left and top was needed to eliminate the clipping of the column and arch.