Thread: Bristlecone Pine- IR shot-White Mountains

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Bristlecone Pine- IR shot-White Mountains

Attached Images Attached Images

This is a selective blue substitution. It was interesting to do. i wonder what others think of it.
    Canon 20D Ir converstion

15mm
    1/125 sec, f/11
    Mode: Av
    Metering: Multi-segment
    Exp comp: +1
    ISO: 400

gary rouleau

Very interesting, I like it. I would have left more space between the tree and branch

gary

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Gary,
    I used a 15mm fisheye and my face was planted on the ground, Could not have done that with this composition, Thanks. I thought the selective removal of the blue on some rocks was interesting, at least the most fun for me.
    I did clone out one space where the tree leaves touched the trunk, but would have liked to have more space

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Steve,
    I have no IR experience to speak of, but I do find the images very interesting and this is no exception. I do wonder if it needs some density--either increasing the amount of black in Selective Color, or a local contrast adjustment (USM filter 20% at Radius 50). I appreciate you're trying to present a very light toned image, and I think you can preserve that feeling while adding density to it to "ground" the image.

Robert Amoruso

Steve,

Don't they make 10mm fisheyes? You could have dug a hole. Just kidding. :)

I like the tonality of the pine and the sky but find the ground bothersome (the blueish color). I think David's suggestions are worth investigating. Like him I have no experience with IR photography so can't give and exact recommendation.

A very cool looking image.

Roman Kurywczak

Default B&W conversion

Attached Images Attached Images

Hey Steve,