Thread: Black-capped or Carolina?

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Black-capped or Carolina?

Attached Images Attached Images

Taken near my feeders several days ago, in Princeton, NJ. I live in the narrow zone of overlap between Carolina and Black-capped Chickadees, and I've never been sure which I'm seeing (or both?). I've always thought ours were predominantly BC, but I'm not so sure about this one, and I've been told that the zone of interface is slowly moving northward. Can anyone tell from this image?

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Bill- I have zero experience with Carolinas. However, I took a look at Sibley and he mentions two maybe three field marks that show here- the nape, the secondaries, and the tail length. This is tough but the tail looks long, the secondaries look edged with white, and the nape looks "mostly white" (at least not gray in contrast to the cheek). Therefore I would conclude Black-capped.

However, I'm prepared to be shot-down on ID. That's what I'm here for!

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Bill, looking at the Christmas Bird Count data for the Princeton count, it appears that you live in the dreaded hybrid zone. When identified to species by the observers, the predominant species is Carolina, but Black-capped seems to be reported annually in some numbers. The number of chickadees left unidentified surpasses both.

That being said, I would tell you to start keeping a close eye on your chickadees. If you look at some of the photos of Carolina and Black-capped taken within their respective solid breeding ranges, I think you'll start to pick up on the field marks. Black-cappeds are already making a major push southward this winter (they are an irruptive species in our area), including reports already from Delaware. I had my first of the season by late September and I have at least one showing up at my feeder about 35 miles or so north and west of Philadelphia.