Thread: Jupiter and moons

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Jupiter and moons

Attached Images Attached Images

Maybe not so exciting an image to some, but I have never tried anything like this before and tried this tonight as Jupiter was so bright.

Canon 7D
    Canon EF400mm f/5.6L + 2X TC
    1 sec f/11 ISO 800 MLU

Huge crop in CS5
    NR in Noiseware Pro

Robert Amoruso

You do have a nice diagonal with the planet and stars. If you were able to get a whole sky full of stars with this - that would be something.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Ian, Agree with Robert about having more interest within the image. The diagonal alignment is interesting...

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Thanks for the comments, folks. These were Jupiter's moons and not stars, so a different layout would have been tough. I took this because I had never seen the moons so clearly as last night. It was a relatively starless night. I might take a trip out into the desert this weekend to see if I can get this with stars around it.

Roman Kurywczak

Hey Ian,
    Agree with the comments above......but given your limitations.....still quite interesting. I'm impressed that you got such a good image......you had to be a good distance from Pheonix because of all the light pollution. Having more stars in would be a great idea Robert gave you!

Robert Amoruso

Quote Originally Posted by Ian Cassell View Post
    Thanks for the comments, folks. These were Jupiter's moons and not stars, so a different layout would have been tough. I took this because I had never seen the moons so clearly as last night. It was a relatively starless night. I might take a trip out into the desert this weekend to see if I can get this with stars around it.

I figured not stars after posting my response so looked it up. Thanks for the clarification.:D

Banned
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Ian,