Thread: Wood Sandpiper?

Axel Aire

Default Wood Sandpiper?

I am trying to identify this bird and it seems to be a Wood Sandpiper.
    I took this photo in Massachusetts and according to my bird ID book, Wood Sandpiper are not common here.
    Is this really a Wood Sandpiper?

Last edited by Axel Aire; 08-21-2010 at 11:37 AM.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

I'm no shorebird expert but the default ID for the location would be Lesser Yellowlegs, which is a Tringa shorebird, closely related to the Wood Sandpiper. Wood Sandpipers are European and as far as I know only show up in North America as a rare vagrant. A Wood Sandpiper would have a much "scalier" back than this one and a shorter bill. Here's a couple of BPN links to Wood Sandpiper:

http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...wood+sandpiper
    http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...wood+sandpiper

and here's a Lesser Yellowlegs:

http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...read.php?70585

Thanks for posting.

PS- So shorebird experts, do we have a rare bird here or a common one??
    Last edited by John Chardine; 08-21-2010 at 03:08 PM.

Axel Aire

Are not the legs too short for a Lesser Yellowlegs?

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

I agree. So what about a Solitary Sandpiper? Another Tringa sandpiper but certainly within range. The plumage does not look dark enough (maybe your exposure has lightened it?) but it has some other Solitary features- leg colour and length, "spectacles", dark shoulder, white spots on back.

Here's some Solitary links:

http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...tary+sandpiper
    http://www.birdphotographers.net/for...tary+sandpiper

Based on the Wood Sandpipers posted on BPN, your bird appears to have a significantly longer bill.

By the way could you send a private message (PM) to Chris Ober and he can change your name to your real name. We use real names here at BPN.
    Last edited by John Chardine; 08-21-2010 at 09:27 PM. Reason: added links and details