Thread: Ultimate Florida Birding Trip...Input Welcomed

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Ultimate Florida Birding Trip...Input Welcomed

Hello all!

I am planning a 7 day trip around south Florida starting next Saturday, the 13th. I think I know the hot spots, thanks to this forum, but I would welcome any input as to places that may be better than I am planning on hitting:

Saturday 13th - Green Cay / Wako

Sunday 14th - Everglades: Mrazek / Eco Ponds

Monday 15th - Flamingo / Snake Bite

Tuesday 16th - Naples Area - Corkscrew / Tigertail

Wednesday 17th - Ft Myers - Ding / Bunche / Estero

Thursday 18th - Ft Myers - Ding / Bunche / Estero

Friday 19th - Ft Desots / Venice / Circle B

...then back home to Jacksonville.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as this is my first year doing bird photography.

Thanks!

AJ

Michael Pancier

the fact you have Circle B on the list, you're all set. Make sure you have enough time to get there right before sunrise and plan on spending the whole day there. Pack a lunch. But if you have them all planned for one day, you won't be able to do it. Venice is an am shoot. Ft. Desoto is early am or late pm shoot, though it has been dead with the cold weather we had. Circle B you have to spend a whole day there. or at least sunrise to early pm. It's the best location of all the places on your list.

Corkscrew is nice if you're counting birds, but not good for photography. If you're lucky, you'll maybe get some hawk photos, but most of it is under tree canopy with poor lighting and no clear shots.

Ding is great if you're there when the gate opens which is currently just before sunrise. The spoons congregate in the 1st pond, but shortly after sunrise, they start taking off. By 9:00, or the time you make a complete drive through the park, you're pretty much done there.

Bunche is fantastic again early am and mid afternoon to sunset. Probably one of the best spots in SW Fla right now.