Thread: Rufous-tailed hummingbird

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Rufous-tailed hummingbird

Hi to all. I've been enjoying the site for a few months now, but this is my first image post. With a tropical depression hammering us with wind and rain, today seemed like a good day to stay in the office and work on some images. This is a rufous-tailed hummingbird, a regular visitor to my feeders, taken with my custom flash setup on my front porch a couple of weeks ago. A note: this obviously is not the classic multi-flash hummingbird look, as I've been working toward a setup that mimics the darkish backrounds and diffused light typical of Costa Rican cloud forests, at least to my eye. I've also been going for a combination of sharpness and wing blur for a natural but somewhat artistic look. I'll be interested to see what people think.

Canon 40D, 300 mm f2.8 L IS, 25 mm extension tube, f14, 1/160, ISO 250, 6 strobes

Cheers from Costa Rica,

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Congrats Greg on your first photo post on BPN! It's a stunner to be sure! Great eye contact and wing position; I like the wing blur. I think you've succeeded in creating a natural look here with your multiflash setup too.
    Upcoming Workshops: Bosque del Apache 2019, Ecuador 2020 (details coming soon)
    Website -
    Facebook - 500px

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Lovely first post Greg. The nicely fanned tail catches my eye.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Greg,
    Big welcome from the UK!
    What a stunner - I love the colours and the BG and it is so sharp where you want it to be. Very artistic- well done!
    Regards,
    Nicki

Threads
    Thank You Posts

I like the colors and the idea of the blurred wings, but the blur of the near wing is excessive. What is yoyur BKGR? What is causing the blurred wing(s)? Most of all, I wish that the bird's head were angled towards us rather than away. Welcome!