Thank You Posts

Default Red Deer

Attached Images Attached Images

Canon 1DX Mk2
    f/4 400mm DO Mk2
    f/5.6
    1/250
    ISO 1250

I've recently returned from a trip up North where I managed to get real close to Red Deer...I have lots of images, with different exposures and different comps. Being a Bird Photographer, I feel I can't process the same with 'wildlife'....I have posted this image which has been opened in ACR and the only change in RAW was to reduce the auto sharpness to 0....What suggestions would you recommend to make this image better. The BG is seaweed with a grass banken which the Deer were feeding on. Handheld....Thanks in advance...

Will

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

A nice view of this red deer. I like the pose. Maybe more of a square crop would work better.Reduce the highlights and the whites some. Tone curve might held to bring out some depth in the coat. Burn the brighter spots in the background or just remove them.

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Will I like the shot, composition looks Ok but I think I would like to have seen a littl e more of the forelegs.
    I feel the subject would benefit from a little more presence, I have an alternative for your consideration - WDYT?
    I made a selection of the stag added a little more colour and Clarity and Texture and lowered the Blue colour component. I brushed a little extra clarity and exposure on the eye too.

Story Sequences Moderator and Wildlife Moderator Gabriela Plesea's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Dear Will,

Thank you so much for sharing your Red Deer image with us, must have been very special to see this magnificent species!

It is my understanding that no PP work was done on this frame and you are seeking some suggestions on how to improve it. If I may ask, what are your concerns here?