Thread: Double Breasted Cormorant in Nest with Chicks, Wakodahatchee Wetlands

BPN Limited Member
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Double Breasted Cormorant in Nest with Chicks, Wakodahatchee Wetlands

Attached Images Attached Images

Hi! I'm new to the forum, and to posting. I wanted to post an image out of camera for feedback. I am new to bird and nature photography, and working on exposure/evaluative metering. I have a Canon 5dMarkiii ~ and it does not allow evaluative adjustment in manual. I've been working with changing out my ISO to try to achieve a good exposure for the birds. I feel like I am also still not sharp enough. Shooting with 600mm f.4 and 1.4 teleconverter. I used a single point af with the point on the parent eye. Aperture set at 5.6 ... but maybe it would have been much better to use something closer to 8? Thank you for any suggestions you might have. Gabrielle

Forum Participant
    Thank You Posts

I'll get the ball rolling: If you could have gotten this shot from a different angle, slightly higher to reduce clutter and about 90 degrees or so to the left so that you were more on sun angle, you might have fewer issues attaining proper exposure; it looks like you did pretty well from this position, though. I kind of like the side light. At what ISO and shutter speed were you shooting here? On a tripod, I assume, or handheld? Nice, nice moment.

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hello Gabriella, welcome to the forum, this is the place to learn! There is nothing wrong with your kit, just don't over complicate things. There are some basics that make a big difference. For example looking at your post, the light is not at the best angle, where ever possible have the sun behind you. The part bird lower left doesn't add to the shot and same for the stick crossing the wing. List all your settings in each post which will help with giving the best advice.

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts