Thread: Skunked at the Beach....

BPN Member
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Skunked at the Beach....

Attached Images Attached Images

Went to the west coast of Florida this morning to try some BIF. The morning sun and wind direction totally conspired against the effort. All the birds coming at me were coming from the sun (backlit). Once they passed I could get some well lit butts. No matter, I clicked away to see how the AF did on BIF. First disclaimer; I have not used a dslr in about 10 years and I was only bearly serviceable at flight images when my rigs broke. So, I am far from an expert on this subject. OK, that out of the way, here are my findings. The AF system on this camera is bipolar(or schizophrenic). This applies to all modes (servo or one shot). When it acquires the subject correctly it hops right to it and does a great job. There is certainly no more hunting than I ever saw in my old rigs (bad reference as these were the 10d and 1dmkIIn). In fact, I think when it is in good mode it actually makes my old glass better. Now for the bad; occasionally (don't have hard numbers) it totally fails. When I say fail I mean there is a big OOF blob in front of it and it doesn't hunt or get soft focus, it just fails completely and thinks it's in focus. If you reset by releasing the focus and trying again it usually pops right back in. Sometimes it stays confused for one more try. This is with nothing changing, not the light, the contrast or where it is pointed. I believe this is a bug and will eventually be fixed with firmware update. But, who knows. For tracking, once it's on, it seems pretty **** good at staying on. I have been using it like I used to use my old rigs with single point plus the 8 surround with hopefully enough DOF to get the whole bird if I'm on it. Hey, I'm no Arash, that is for sure.