Thread: Posterisation

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Posterisation

Posterisation seems to be becoming more apparent now on the images. I don't know why. At first, I thought it was the 5K on my iMac, but now I see more people, are seeing it on non iMac monitors. Is it because of the new larger image size, I don't really know.. I would love to know how to prevent it. I have tried several ways, but to no avail, apart from cloning it out. It always appears on the BG for some unknown reason. Any Thoughts?

Will

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Will... seems you are still waiting on a response on this. I'm no expert, but this is my understanding in case it helps. I hope others can chip and help.

There is no reason that is obvious to me why posterisation would become more apparent recently unless you have changed something, for example, increased application of saturation. It's also not clear why a larger monitor would make it more visible either so I'm not sure that would be a fruitful area to investigate. Understanding what causes it is the best way to design a workflow that avoids it:

In short, sRGB is not capable of displaying all colours on the colour spectrum. It is a relatively 'small' colour space. Have a look at the masp of colours in the charts on this webpage and you'll see what I mean:
    https://www.color-management-guide.c...-prophoto.html