Thread: Thirsty Cheetah

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Thirsty Cheetah

Attached Images Attached Images

A cheetah quenches its thirst at a water body in Mara. The full belly shows he/she had a good meal.
    7D II
    100-400 II
    1/1250
    f/8
    ISO 400
    Last edited by Gabriela Plesea; 11-13-2017 at 02:22 PM.

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Nice one! Was the sun far too overhead? the light seems a bit harsh to me. Was this cropped or is this the full frame? A bit more space on either sides would ve been welcome. Looks a bit pale ( but probably its because i am an Indian doctor & find everyone, including Cheethas from mara, to be pale). Jokes apart i find it a bit desaturated.
    Nice one at the start of the day though. TFS
    Regards
    Abhijit

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Sanjeev -- Light is definitely harsh but you have still managed quite well. Not the best of angle and settings but always nice to get a Cheetah. I too would have liked some space in the front , rest looks fine to me. Colours are definitely good , doesn't look desaturated at all .

TFS !

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Sanjeev I think this is great, I like the pose and the colours. There appears to me to be more detail in this than in some of the previous cheetah shots.
    (Two tiny white specs, one on the eye one on the side of nose bridge - I would eliminate them.)

Lifetime Member Rachel Hollander's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Sanjeev - Nice timing to have the tongue out which I feel adds to the image. I think the colors look fine. I agree a bit more room in front of the cheetah because the inclusion of the tail, which I think is great, creates a slightly awkward placement in frame without the additional space. The pano crop works though. Yes, the light looks harsh but you handled it.

TFS,
    Rachel

Threads
    Thank You Posts