Thread: Backlit at sunset

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Backlit at sunset

Attached Images Attached Images

Tried something that I have never done before. While leaving Nickerson Beach right at sundown I saw an Oystercatcher walking almost directly between me and the setting sun. The sky was just perfect and filled with purple and red and yellow tones. Decided it was time to take my first shot like this.

I reduced the reds on the bird a decent amount as the blacks were very red. In selective color I increased the blacks in the black a bit and decreased the blacks in the whites just to make the bird show a bit better. This is one that I would really love suggestions on how maybe I could improve (or not) the shot.

Canon 1dx and Canon 500 f4 ii. ISO 3200, F4, SS 1/2000

Processed with DPP 4.6 and PS.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Interesting shot, Isaac. Always fun to try something different. The colors in the fg/bg are lovely, and the low POV is great. I'm not sure what to suggest, but I'll tell you what I would try: increase the contrast in the bird, that is, add even more black than you did; bring out the red/orange in the bill; brighten the eye. I suspect that will make it look very artificial, so I would then put that attempt in the trash. But it might be worth a try.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

That had me cracking up Bill! . Your thought process was basically what went through my mind as well. Ultimately I decided that you don't see lots of details or contrast on the bird if looking right into the sun so I tried to make it as close as I could to what I saw. I guess it is more about the light and the colors than the details on the bird. Eager to hear what others think.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts