Thread: If looks could kill

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default If looks could kill

Attached Images Attached Images

Here is another shot of one of the Great Gray Owls from Massena, New York. I have come to realize since getting the 1DX that I have zero experience with processing high ISO shots. Needed work on it for sure. I posted this shot in the Digital Workflow Forum and got some good suggestions. Got good advice to decrease the blues and add in levels to lower the dark and mid tones. Really made the bird stand out more and added contrast.

Canon 1dx and Canon 500 f4 ii + 1.4x iii. ISO 2000, F8, SS 1/2000.

Processed in DPP 4.6 and PS. Noise reduction with Neat Image.

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

The image certainly has impact and it is clean too.
    I have seen very few of these in fact only one and it was a lot paler in colour than this one so I am sorry to say I cannot really comments on the colours, having said that the tree looks like true colours and no blown highlights.

3. Thanks Isaac Grant thanked for this post
    Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Beautiful Image.

I was able to see this majestic Bird this year. Great gray owl is confirmed in Utah for first time in 28 years....

I was not able to get a good shot, this image reminded me of that bird and made me happy.

Thank you for sharing.

Thanks
    Krishna

5. Thanks Isaac Grant thanked for this post
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

We had some of these locally this year, and I did not even get the chance to photograph one! One of my favorite poses from GGOs is when they tilt their heads down a bit like it did here for you. Good vertical comp. I think the reds should be reduced as well here.

Threads
    Thank You Posts

I like the look and the environment, I also find this one a bit oversaturated and contrasty
    New! Sony Capture One Pro Guide 2022