Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Image corruption

  1. #1
    BPN Member D. Robert Franz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    2,491
    Threads
    428
    Thank You Posts

    Default Image corruption

    Attached Images Attached Images
     
    I'm having trouble with files being corrupted when I import into lightroom and breezebrowser. This is how they look.. It seems every time I open the folder more become corrupted. When I view the folder in Canons DPP software they seem fine? This is very aggravating and I really don't' want to work in DPP.. Any ideas of what may be causing this?

    D. Robert Franz

    Upcoming Photo Tours: "Winter in Yellowstone" "Bald Eagles of Alaska"

  2. #2
    Wildlife Moderator Steve Kaluski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in the world
    Posts
    17,033
    Threads
    1,019
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Hi Dale, is this on a laptop and or, is the image small within the window i.e. at 16%? Do you get the same 'corruption' if you go to 1:1?

    Steve

  3. #3
    BPN Member D. Robert Franz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    2,491
    Threads
    428
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Hi Steve,

    I don't see it on my laptop (windows 7 machine) only my desktop. It's a PC fairly new with 32gb ram, runs windows 10 and yes I still see the corruption at 1 to 1...

    D. Robert Franz

    Upcoming Photo Tours: "Winter in Yellowstone" "Bald Eagles of Alaska"

  4. #4
    Wildlife Moderator Steve Kaluski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in the world
    Posts
    17,033
    Threads
    1,019
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    OK, the reason I asked was that my MB pro whilst out in the field and heavily laden with stuff to pre edit (and back-up twice on ext HDs) was showing similar signs, but when scaled up in PS everything was fine, hence asking if you were reviewing at a small size. There seems a lot of stuff people are having issues with in terms of colour, all running Windows 10, could it be Windows???

    Sorry can say much more, but hope you get it sorted.

    Steve

  5. #5
    Life Time Member Rachel Hollander's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    14,320
    Threads
    929
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Dale - Is it happening across multiple cards? If so, could it be the card reader?

  6. #6
    BPN Member D. Robert Franz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    2,491
    Threads
    428
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rachel Hollander View Post
    Dale - Is it happening across multiple cards? If so, could it be the card reader?
    That seemed to be the consensus but now I'm not so sure. When uploading images to my desktop from my external HD that I loaded the images onto via my laptop with a different card reader the same thing happens. Viewing the images on my laptop from the same HD doesn't' exhibit this behavior. I also tried several different external HD's with the same result. So files look fine in BB on my laptop but when I upload to BB or LR on my desktop the corruption begins....

    D. Robert Franz

    Upcoming Photo Tours: "Winter in Yellowstone" "Bald Eagles of Alaska"

  7. #7
    Forum Participant
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    9,587
    Threads
    401
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    That looks like it pins it down to the computer. I had a similar issue many years ago and a new computer fixed the problem.

  8. #8
    BPN Member D. Robert Franz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cody, WY
    Posts
    2,491
    Threads
    428
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Thanks everyone for your suggestions... After much testing, trial and error it seems that I have 2 bad USB3 ports on my desktop. When using the properly functioning USB3 ports everything seems fine....

    D. Robert Franz

    Upcoming Photo Tours: "Winter in Yellowstone" "Bald Eagles of Alaska"

  9. #9
    Wildlife Moderator Steve Kaluski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in the world
    Posts
    17,033
    Threads
    1,019
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the update Dale, should be faster too.

  10. #10
    BPN Viewer
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    72
    Threads
    27
    Thank You Posts

    Default

    I was getting a similar error from CF cards but not SD cards. I could also read the CF cards if I left them in the camera and imported directly from the camera.
    Turns out the problem was using UMDA cards in a card reader that was not compatible with UMDA. Changing the card reader solved the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Web Analytics