Thread: Asking about bird locations & etiquette

BPN Member
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Asking about bird locations & etiquette

Hi everyone,

I'm an avid bird photographer from the Twin Cities of MN, so the payoff for the long winter is many nesting warblers in our state for two months. I guess I'll take what I can get.

In real life I'm a Roman Catholic priest, and my spare time is spent chasing birds. And paying off photo gear

I wanted to run a question by the group concerning etiquette and what is kosher in terms of asking other photographers who are near you about where they took shots.

Prior to Facebook, our state like many had news groups - a list would go out and anyone could post to it. This would be about sightings of birds; e.g., prothonatary warbler seen at...etc." It's still used and helpful. However with Facebook, people I would see locally would start posting photos of birds; sometimes on facebook groups. The only problem is no info was given on said bird. So it's not very helpful really, other than to the photographer who is angling for a lot of nice comments and likes. Sometimes I would in comments politely ask where the bird was shot - if it's local it's nice to know, and we aren't exactly making a lot of cash off of photographs of black and white warblers or herons.