Thread: Help Needed for SE Asia Trip, Rent 5D Mark III or purchase 600EX‑RT Speedlite

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Help Needed for SE Asia Trip, Rent 5D Mark III or purchase 600EX‑RT Speedlite

Attached Images Attached Images

I would be extremely appreciative for some advice. Let me start by explaining what I have, what my goals are, and how I do photography.

I'm a total amateur. A birder at heart and a teacher by day, I've gotten more and more into photography, but birding is my primary goal. I like to take pictures when I see opportunity rather than seeking out opportunities specifically for photography. In other words, I'll sacrifice 15 minutes crawling on the ground towards a subject but I don't tend to wait around all morning in prime spots for photos, especially when birding internationally. I'd miss too many birds!

I'll share a picture of some Crab Plovers taken last summer in Madagascar to give you an idea of my maximum possible talent when things go right and I get a little lucky...

So, one of the things I've noticed from my past trips to Brazil and Africa is that I struggle most in tropical forests that are dark. This has me thinking about this summer, when I'll be going to a lot of dark places in Borneo, Thailand, and Sulawesi.

Here's the gear I have now:

• 7D Mark II
    • 100-400 Mark II
    • 1.4 TC Mark III
    • 430EX II Speedlite
    • A very poor monopod with a head that leaves a lot to be desired. (I bought the monopod before Africa last summer but ended up leaving it in the suitcase nearly the entire two month trip because I found it extremely distracting for birding. I like to keep my hands free and keep the camera around a shoulder or in a Think Tank holster on a belt.)

Here's the dilemma I have. I was thinking of doing one of two options:

renting a 5D Mark III
    or
    purchasing a 600EX‑RT Speedlite and possibly a transmitter

As I see it, here are some pros and cons.

5D Mark III Pros