Thread: Solar eclipse photography

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Solar eclipse photography

Hi everyone, tomorrow there's a partial (84%) solar eclipse in Holland, and I intend to photograph it. Any tips on how to do this are very welcome!
    I'm specifically worried about the safety of my eyes and my equipment. The only protection I have is a variable ND filter, which has a maximum density of 400. I have never used the filter before, so I have no idea whether this is enough to have me look through the viewfinder without risk, or give me good images.
    I read loads of warnings that many filters do filter out the visible light, but not the damaging radiation like UV and IR, but I have no idea if this is also the case for the ND filter.
    Is the use of liveview a safer option? Or does the direct sunlight through the lens also damage the sensor?
    Any help is greatly appreciated.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Don't do it! You'll risk frying the sensor and shutter curtain along with your eyes. Lots of info online. It's too late now, but get a mylar solar filter from Thousandoaksoptical and stretch it over the lens.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Thanks Diane! I was afraid it would. I was mainly planning on making more of a lanscape image with an eclipsed sun in it, e.g. at 30 or 50 mm with an interesting foreground. Would I run the same risk, or is it especially the case with telephoto close ups (where you could burn a hole right through the back of the camera I guess......)?

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

So far I've got the best protection I could have: a thick cloud cover.....

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Sorry, I misunderstood that you were going to do a telephoto shot of just the sun. With the solar filter everything but the sun will be black.