Thread: Theme: Bonnet Macaque

Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default Theme: Bonnet Macaque

Attached Images Attached Images

I spent some of new year's day 2014 sitting near a group of these most entertaing monkeys at Kabini River Resort, Karnataka, India.
    5D3 100-400 @300 f5.6 1/250 iso320

Edit: Saving for web has increased contrast so some of the subtle shading is lost- advice?
    Last edited by Colin Driscoll; 04-19-2014 at 04:19 PM.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Ho Colin. I like the creamy tone and the sharpness of this image, but wish to have more of the monkey on the LHS. Do you have more room there? Loi

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Colin

Interesting hair do..!! Especially the way the sun has caught it.. I am an admitted beginner in B&W so my advice you should take with a grain of salt. However i feel that the fur behind the ear over to the LH edge has lost a lot of detail which I think may have been lost at the conversion to B&W, (or maybe this is the area you refer to in you post??) Either way this image IMHO would improve by selectively increasing contrast and detail in that area. My latest toy in PS is an Exposure/offset/gamma layer, maybe that might help? The fur on the leg and the sharpness there is wonderful.. Pity you have a hot spot on the chest and I agree with Loi hat a little more of the LHS would be nice if you had it...

DON

Lifetime Member Rachel Hollander's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts