Thread: My Back Yard Buddy

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default My Back Yard Buddy

This Great Kiskadee sets around my yard most of the day.

Name:  Back_yard_Buddy.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  191.0 KB

Taken with Nikon D90, 1/800 sec at f /5.3, 220 mm, tripod

All C&C greatly appreciated.just trying to improve

C M

BPN Viewer
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

CM. I'm new at this, so you can probably discount anything I say. I think it is a beautiful image of a bird I'd love to see some day. Since you were shooting off a tripod and had plenty of shutter speed, you could have stopped down and gotten more depth of field to get the tail in focus (or maybe the bird was moving its tail?). I think that I see some fringing, so maybe it is over-sharpened (which is what I was told about my first image I posted a day or two ago!). Let the real experts chime in...

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hey, CM, nice post. I'd love to see one of these. The bird is nicely positioned in the frame, IMO, and is sharp where it needs to be (although a bit more DOF would not have hurt). You might consider some Noise Reduction on the BG.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

A lovely bird, nice pose, well-exposed, but I see a lack of sharpness and detail. What was the ISO? Did you do a lot of noise reduction? Was it a big crop? Was the RAW file lacking in sharpness, possibly due to focus being a little off, or some motion blur? (Was the tripod really steady?)

So many factors at play in an image, it can be frustrating.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts