Thread: River Dee

Macro and Flora Moderator Jonathan Ashton's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Default River Dee

Attached Images Attached Images

Canon 7D Canon 100-400L IS hand held ISO 800 + 0.66, 1/500 f6.3
    An unusual shot for me, probably not the ideal lens to have with me but I had just had my lens repaired so this was the first day out, I noticed the light on the river which is just a couple of minutes walk from my house. I after optimising in ACR I applied curves in CS6 and just selected medium contrast, I tried various HDR but I am new to this game. The River Dee is North West England where thee is a small peninsula - that is Wirral where I live so we are in Wirral looking over more or less the mouth of the estuary toward the Irish Sea, North Wales is just to the left.
    Your comments would be most welcome - don't worry I will not be offended if you don't like it.

Lifetime Member Rachel Hollander's Avatar
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Jonathan - the gorgeous light makes the shot. I like the way the winding channel leads the viewer through the image and to the boats stranded at low tide. Only thing that bothers me is the closest green channel marker as it draws the eye.

TFS,
    Rachel

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

The light is indeed fantastic, but the low tide stranded boats tells an additional story. I agree with the decision to de-emphasize the uninteresting sky. I suppose that the red and green spots throughout are channel markers. There's a green one in the FG catching more than its share of direct sunlight, so I might de-emphasize it a bit.

Wonderful shot.

Forum Participant
    Threads
    Thank You Posts

Hi Jonathan