PDA

View Full Version : Black Bear Portrait

Steve Uffman
05-28-2012, 12:21 AM
Tired of the sharpening drills I have been doing for a moment so here's a different post featuring Nik color efex4 work of the a big bear image from Chas's workshop.

Bear was still a bit soaked from the rain.

5dmkIII M 1/250 f/7.1 ISO 800 500m

LR4, Vertical crop, desaturated grass with target adjustment, minor selective sharpening with adjustment brush, some debris removal from fur
CS6, sized and saved for web
NIK Color efex4 Graduated ND, Brilliance and Warmth,Detail Extractor, Vignette, Pro Contrast

Ken Watkins
05-28-2012, 05:03 AM
Steve,

Let me first say on my monitor and with my eyes this looks to be totally absent of any cast problems, and it is sharp enough for me:cheers:

Great pose looks quite threatening, was he far away?

Steve Uffman
05-28-2012, 07:42 AM
:5:bg3::cheers::wave:

Ken, I have never used smileys before but this deserves a few...Whew.....Many thanks!

while I wait on my new monitor, I checked it on my IPS display on my notebook that had been calibrated. And I am played where I am pretty comfortable...NIK

The bear was coming up a slight rise and my POV was low. Ole 500 compression does make it look a bit threatening and close, heh?

Now back to the grindstone on getting this sharpening skill developed..

Andreas Liedmann
05-28-2012, 09:58 AM
Hi Steve
like this image because of that tight framing and the look of the bear.the greenery adds a nice contrast.exposure looks good to me,but i am not sure about the colors. i cannot tell you exactly ,what makes feel that.

If you post images can you please post them with an embedded color profile,because i tried to open in PS, but i got a warning "no color profile embedded".It is a lot easier to identify what is going with the colors with a attached profile.

Maybe you can reup the image with a profile .

Cheers Andreas

Steve Uffman
05-28-2012, 10:15 AM