PDA

View Full Version : VR or not?

alexgwoodruff
05-05-2012, 01:59 AM
I have been photographing birds for about 4 years within the constraints of a fairly tight budget.

About 3 years ago the Nikkor 300 f4 AF-S was recommended to me (to replace my Phoenix 100-400mm lens) and it improved my photography immensely, I love this lens. Over the last few years I have practised my technique and I am getting fairly consistent results in so far as I enjoy the images and I do not have to rely on them to feed my family!

Now I am at the stage where I would like to get some more reach. Rather than struggle with AF by adding the 1.7 or 2xTC, I am looking to purchase some longer glass.

My question is this: There is obviously a marked price difference between VR and non-VR lenses. Is VR something that is absolutely necessary in your opinion? My decision comes down to this argument… It will take me at least a year to budget for this purchase and I will likely have to buy a used lens. Should I choose the length and opt for a 600 non-VR or budget for a little longer and choose the 500 VR?
Thanks in advance for your advice.

John Chardine
05-05-2012, 08:27 AM