PDA

View Full Version : Which Feisol legs to get?

Cheryl Arena Molennor
04-25-2012, 10:53 AM
Hi friends. I am wanting to get a new set of legs. Mine have seen better days. I am looking at Feisol and wonder if any of you who do Bird photography with a heavy prime lens can recommend a set for my gymbasl head. Under 400.00 if possible I want NO center column
Thanks much

David Pugsley
04-26-2012, 09:20 AM
I've been using the 3372 legs for a couple of years now. They are complimented by a RRS BH-55 head and a Wimberley Sidekick. The rig supports a 1D MkIII and 500 f/4 w/ 1.4x with no problems. Given the abuse I put the legs through they do have some sand even with regular cleanings. This, combined with all the saltwater, is making the legs a bit stiff when extending. I don't know if you'd see this issue with other brands or not. Overall I've been happy with them.

BTW, congrats on the recent contest victories!

Cheryl Arena Molennor
04-26-2012, 11:35 AM
Thanks much David

Don Lacy
04-26-2012, 03:50 PM
Hi Cheryl I looked into Feisol when I broke one of the legs on my Gitzo and was planning on buying 3722 as its feature most closely matched my Gitzo in the end I repaired the leg on my Gitzo myself. My friend uses a Feisol and he has not had a problem with it were i have now repaired another leg on my gitzo with the same malfunction caused by corrosion.

Cheryl Arena Molennor
04-26-2012, 05:32 PM
Thanks Don and I have heard the same. Save money and get a better tripod... Go figure:e3 Thanks

Don Lacy
04-26-2012, 06:53 PM
Thanks Don and I have heard the same. Save money and get a better tripod... Go figure:e3 Thanks