PDA

View Full Version : Disparity

Devank Patel
04-15-2012, 07:01 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here :) very excited to be a part of this forum!

I took this photo on a sunny day with some clouds at the Red Rock Canyon State Park, CA

Settings:

Camera Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Focal Length 24mm
Shutter Speed 1/8 sec
Aperture f/14
ISO/Film 100

As far as editing goes, I did push the vibrancy and saturation to play the contrast between the reds and blues and it is intended to be a little stronger than what we are normally used to. Hence, the title.
There are some clipped highlights, which I might restore using another exposure. Not sure yet.

Any and all comments and critiques welcome! :)

Thanks!

Robert Amoruso
04-15-2012, 09:56 PM
Welcome to the forum Devank.

I like the composition and the strong vertical lines of the canyon. I am not keen on the extreme washed-out look of the sun-drenched area outside the canyon. I feel blending a different exposure as you suggested would be a better strategy.

I am looking forward to more of your images or perhaps a reworked version of this one.

Morkel Erasmus
04-16-2012, 05:21 AM
Welcome here Devank! My thoughts on this image echo what Robert said. I would love to see more detail/definition in the BG scene, and blending back a darker exposure should do the trick...looking forward to a repost! :cheers:

Dennis Bishop
04-16-2012, 11:18 AM
I like what you did with the composition, but I agree with the previous comments about the clipped highlights. My first reaction upon looking at the image was that using HDR imaging to get a good histogram would be the way to go with this scene.

Devank Patel
04-16-2012, 03:19 PM
Welcome to the forum Devank.

I like the composition and the strong vertical lines of the canyon. I am not keen on the extreme washed-out look of the sun-drenched area outside the canyon. I feel blending a different exposure as you suggested would be a better strategy.