PDA

View Full Version : Ducks on Humboldt Bay, CA

Dan Brown
03-13-2012, 07:15 PM
Well, I'm not very experienced with BW conversions, so be gentle! This started as a near monotone scene shot handheld with my 400mm. I had to level and crop it, do some NR and then piled a bunch of layers on to come up with this BW. C&C welcome.

Steve Adkins
03-13-2012, 09:12 PM
Way to go, Dan! I love the subtle tones and layers. Amazing tree line silhouettes! I might be tempted to trim a bit off the bottom, but that's just me. Unique low key approach and very well done.

denise ippolito
03-13-2012, 09:41 PM
Dan, the soft tones appeal to me and so do the many layers. I agree with Steve a slice off the bottom would look nice too. The trees have an asian flair and I can see why this one caught your eye. Speaking of Asian we may want to revisit that theme. If you would agree to guest judge.:S3:

Paul Lagasi
03-13-2012, 11:52 PM
Very nice work, I agree with Denise, this does have a Asian flair to it...well done sensei.
With the small ducks in front...one word comes to mind "BIG", not sure why though

Brendan Dozier
03-14-2012, 03:17 PM
Real nice, peaceful composition, Dan, and B&W conversion turned out great. Love the layers of soft tones, and birds on water are nice touch.

Cheryl Slechta
03-14-2012, 08:26 PM
Dan, this has such an Asian feel to it. I love the soft tones and the trees. It looks like an ancient silk painting. I could see a dramatic crop from the bottom eliminating the dark water completely as an alternative. Beautifully done:S3: (And I'm ready for an Asian theme whenever you are!!)

Dan Brown
03-14-2012, 08:37 PM
Thanks all. I will have to play with the crop. Denise, I'm up for an Asian theme week! Let me know ahead.

Kerry Perkins
03-14-2012, 09:40 PM