PDA

View Full Version : First Post - House Bunting

Rhys Marsh
01-08-2012, 07:15 PM
Hi All,

I am brand new to birdphotographers.net and from looking at the last few posts it seems that I will have an opportunity to learn a tremendous amount from the collective talent on this forum. For my first image, I have selected a House Bunting from a trip to Morocco from which I have just returned. I was particularly drawn to this photo in part by the splash of color from a purple curtain in the background that is offset by some pinkish hues on the right side. This image was taken on the roof of my riad (hotel) in Marrakech, Morocco and is minimally cropped. Shot in RAW, I added some vibrance (+14), boosted blacks (+11), increased exposure (+0.40) and slightly increased brightness and contrast in Photoshop Camera RAW. I look forward to your thoughts and critiques!

http://gallery.birderproject.com/Geography/Birds-of-Africa/i-Hpj2M8H/0/L/House-Bunting-Final-L.jpg (http://gallery.birderproject.com/Geography/Birds-of-Africa/20942242_hKDrJn#!i=1659261541&k=Hpj2M8H&lb=1&s=A)

Camera: Canon 7D
Lens: EF 70-200 F/4L IS USM w/ 1.4x Extender II
ISO: 100
Shutter: 1/1000 f/5.6
EV: 0
Handheld
No Flash

arash_hazeghi
01-08-2012, 09:13 PM
nice low angle, good details and relatively good HA. The BG and the perch are distracting and have man-made elements. Try to photograph this guy in a more natural setting.

Welcome to BPN, you will receive great critique here

Amol Khedgikar
01-08-2012, 09:15 PM
Nice First post Rhys.

Nicely blurred BG but the dark patch is distracting. Apparent noise in the image

The perch looks like a railing pipe. Wish the feet and the tail was not clipped. JMO

I like your overall treatment.

Rhys Marsh
01-09-2012, 08:09 AM