PDA

View Full Version : Budapest Bridge at night

Hazel Grant
01-05-2012, 10:15 PM
I decided to experiment with tone mapping and thought of this shot I took of a bridge in Budapest. Since it's my first attempt at this mapping, I'd appreciate any input. Thanks. 1/4 sec. F4.8. Iso 200. no flash
(I know 200 is not a good night setting but missed changing it when I took the photo.)

Jerry van Dijk
01-07-2012, 04:20 PM
Hi Hazel, this looks like it has the potential for quite an interesting HDR, but needs some additional work IMHO. I like the diagonal of the bridge leading the eye to the cathedral. I would start with removing noise before merging the images, HDR has a tendency to exaggerate the noise. Comp. wise I think the image needs a little CCW rotation. I also wish that the top of the cathedral wasn't touching the edge of the frame.
I'm not a HDR expert, so hopefully the others chime in. It might be helpful to provide some more information about the HDR/tonemapping process you applied. For instance, how many images did you blend with which exposures, is it a true HDR or pseudo HDR from the same RAW image, which software did you use and which settings?

Hazel Grant
01-07-2012, 09:11 PM
Pseudo HDR using photoshop from a tutorial. I saw the noise but wasn't sure what to do about it. I'll remove it first before merging next time. I know it's still a learning process. thanks.

Morkel Erasmus
01-09-2012, 05:44 PM
Hazel this looks like an interesting scene. I can't say I am a fan of what you did to the image during processing :e3...the grain looks almost as if it was applied deliberately to simulate "rippled water"?
Sorry about being so frank.
Would you mind posting a JPG conversion of the original RAW file? It's hard for me to really critique any further without knowing what you started from? :t3

Robert Amoruso
01-10-2012, 01:29 PM
I agree with the above comments.

Matt Fragale
01-18-2012, 08:33 PM