PDA

View Full Version : Real Stuffed Bird for Shot Practice

Cecil Kirksey
12-26-2011, 07:32 PM
I have been shooting birds for about six years now. Started with 20D and 70-200mm f/2.8L IS MKI with 2x TC. Shot mostly at f/5.6 according to what I had read in AM BAA book to maximaize SS. I did web research and discovered that this lens combo is sharpest at around f/10-11!!! Almost two stops!! This tended to make shots hard to get. I eventually moved upto the 400mm f/5.6L. I have been using it with my 20D. I bought a 1DIV mainly for shooting basketball but started using the 400 with 1.4x TC since the 1DIV can AF at f/8. But I am now at f/8 and not much better in terms of reach between the 20D and 1DIV. Last year I upgraded the zoom to the MKII and the 2x TC to MKIII. The shots appear to be very good using the 1DIV.

However, ever since I have been shooting birds there has always been the nagging question: Is this the best my equipment and me can do? I know a 400mm f/2.8 L IS I or II will be sharper than the 400mm f/5.6L but there is alot dollar signs between those two lenses. So how good of a shot can I get with my 400? I thought about getting a stuffed bird that has real feathers to use as a test subject. But I have not been able to locate a source. Does anyone know of such a source?

Grady Weed
12-27-2011, 02:05 PM
Hook up with James Shadle, the owner of the site and tour operator extraordinary. Go here for more information on how to contact him: http://www.wildflorida.net/contact.aspx

He can help you out.

Grace Scalzo
12-27-2011, 05:41 PM
Cecil, I'm not sure that you need an actual bird. I have a small glass figurine, a bear wearing a dress of all things, that I practice with. It has alot of fine detail and is great for practice. I've also heard of people using stuffed toys.

Cecil Kirksey
12-28-2011, 07:24 AM