PDA

View Full Version : Borrego Badlands

Jeffrey Sipress
04-06-2008, 07:02 PM
On my recent spring desert color excursion, I made this image in the Anza Borrego Desert in southern California. Early light on a maze of canyons and color.

Still trying to find some birds out there, but I'm not good at that yet.

Canon 1DsIII, 70-200 2.8L

http://machinearts.com/fredphotos/badlands5.jpg

Roman Kurywczak
04-06-2008, 07:41 PM
Hi Jeffrey,
I really like what you did compositionally here. You concentrated on the buttes and IMO selected very carefully not to clip edges of them........especially at the top. You might have oversharpened and did a little much with SH??? I've reposted one that is a little more punched up..........didn't touch any sharpening.........but also toned down. Let me know what you think!
Roman

Jeffrey Sipress
04-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Hi Roman,

Sorry, but that is not what I had in mind. Appreciate your comments.

Roman Kurywczak
04-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Hi Jeffrey,
That's OK that you didn't like the changes............especially since I haven't been to the area. If you could, please post more of the camera specs to help others who come to the forum to learn.
Roman

Alfred Forns
04-06-2008, 11:02 PM
Hi Jeffrey

As presented it seems a bit light but difficult to actually say without seeing the scene in person I would try accentuating the shadows a bit for definition and giving more of a 3D effect It is a very appealing composition !!!! Good luck with the birds I'm sure they will start turning out for you !!!!

Jeffrey Sipress
04-06-2008, 11:47 PM