PDA

View Full Version : Shooting raw and then what?

Trey Barron
01-04-2008, 08:50 PM
I am fairly new to this and was wondering what most do after working on the RAW file. Is it saved to a tiff for later work and what should be done in RAW vs another format. I am also wondering if there are any resources that may help with my workflow including organization (I am a poor college student) whether it be books or online articles. I would appreciate any input on this. Really love the new forum.

Alfred Forns
01-04-2008, 09:11 PM
Hi Trey

If you shoot in RAW you should keep your RAW file along any conversion

The new trend is for programs like Lightroom and Aperture They actually do not change the RAW file Just keep track of changes you have made At any time you can hit reset and the original (unmodified comes up) Convenient

In Both you can catalog images so the program becomes an al in one I think the price for LR is $199 so it is not cheap but it does a lot The only other program you would need is PhotoShop

Forgot ...... for specific simple work flow I would get Artie's digital basics Comes in CD and can't beat it !!!! Available at the store !!!

Jason Vaclavek
01-05-2008, 02:04 AM
Hi Trey,
After adjusting and then converting my RAW files, I save the converted file as a .PSD . I don't make it a point to keep the RAW files once converted. You should back up your image files and then back up the back ups and maybe even once again and then one more time, just to be safe.
As far as books go, PhotoShop for Nature Photographers by Ellen Anon & Tim Grey is a must have!! And then countless hours and sleepless nights spent reading the forums and articles on websites such as this one, BPN, is a great resource of knowledge!

David Hunter
01-05-2008, 03:28 AM
Trey,