PDA

View Full Version : Peregrine up close

Neil Nourse
12-01-2011, 08:44 PM
Was up on the north shore of Mass last weekend and on my way out to look for shore birds I saw this guy land with a bird for breakfast. I had to work my way around to his left to get the sun behind me. I started shooting on my knees with the tripod closed up. He just went about his business of eating the bird as I kept shooting and working forward. By the time I took this shot I was on the ground pushing the now collapsed tripod in front of me. When he finally finished up and flew off he was 30' in front of me.

MK III, 500+2X, 1/1250 @ f/8 ISO 800 Full frame, cropped down from top. Minor NR on background and sharpened.

Comments welcomed.

Cheryl Arena Molennor
12-01-2011, 09:10 PM
That is close. Nice and sharp and the yellows are great.

Grace Scalzo
12-01-2011, 09:18 PM
Good job making the most of this wonderful opportunity that we all dream of. Only crit that I have is I do see a bit of a sharpening halo, blues are tricky in that regard. I do think you can tease some more detail out of the neck feathers.

Arthur Morris
12-01-2011, 09:45 PM
Enjoyed the story. I had a tame one with a pigeon at West End a zillion years ago with film. I am pretty sure that that bird is in the first book.

IAC, a fine image that was over-processed.... One of the main premises of Digital Basics (https://store.birdsasart.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=252) is that too many folks make their images worse in Photoshop.... The idea is to make them better (not worser) :).

For the repost reduced contrast twice, desaturated the whole thing about four points and then the yellows a bit more. Cropped from the left to be closer to 2X3. Linear burn at 25% on the brightest WHITEs.

Arthur Morris
12-01-2011, 09:47 PM
Looking at the repost I see that Grace is correct again--the image as also over-sharpened. So you win the triple header prize: over-SAT, too CONTRASTY, and over-SHARPENED....

Dumay de Boulle
12-01-2011, 11:31 PM