PDA

View Full Version : Tour Company/Workshop Insurance

Roman Kurywczak
11-18-2011, 02:01 PM
I've often wondered if people cared or worried that the workshop or tour they were on carried liability insurance. Does it really matter to you as you go on these type of trips and assume all the responsibility for yourself? Do you ask? Just wondering....because as a tour operator myself ..... no one ever asked me if I carried it! (which I do)

Marina Scarr
11-18-2011, 05:06 PM
Hi Roman: I would care for an expensive trip only. If I were going to Africa, for instance, I would buy insurance probably through NANPA. For national trips, unless the workshop is extremely expensive, I don't think I would buy it. Well maybe for an Alaska trip that were more expensive. I have purchased insurance for several trips to Europe and did in fact have to cancel one trip and did collect on the insurance. I personally think it pays to have it for expensive trips.

Roman Kurywczak
11-18-2011, 05:10 PM
Hey Marina,
I guess I didn't clarify......I wasn't talking about trip insurance. I was asking if you ask if your tour company/operator carried insurance. Make sense?

Marina Scarr
11-18-2011, 07:49 PM
I know a couple of people who run tours on their boat, and they do carry it. Not sure otherwise.

Dave Leroy
11-18-2011, 08:56 PM
Roman, I have only been on one workshop and it was with Glenn Bartley.
Glenn was very up front in letting his customers/clients know that he did not carry liability/travel/health insurance for them. I signed a Liability Release Form. It wasn't a really big deal for me as Workshop was in Victoria and I live near Vancouver. I also have extended and foreign travel medical insurance coverage.

If trip was overseas I would probably look at little harder at travel insurance.

I hope this helps.

Dave

Mike Tracy
11-18-2011, 09:36 PM