PDA

View Full Version : Wagner falls

Mike Landwehr
11-01-2011, 11:06 PM
This is an HDR of Wagner Falls in the Michigan U. P. It was a dreary fall day, and pretty dark around the falls. I only took two images from this spot (in the middle of the stream), at 1 and 2 seconds, so I had fewer images to feed the HDR process than usual. I'm still pretty new to HDR, so any suggestions will be appreciated.

1D Mark II N
Sigma 12-24 mm at 14 mm
ISO 50
1 and 2 seconds @ f/22
Tripod

Jason Kinsey
11-02-2011, 12:58 PM
Mike, I'm no good whatsoever with HDR so I can't comment on the process. Having said that, maybe another exposure or two to the right would have provided more detail in the shadow areas??? Overall I like the image, thanks for sharing.

Jay Gould
11-02-2011, 04:57 PM
To start with and finish with - it is a lovely image! I might run a 10% burn over the left side green foliage once or twice. On the that foliage; the rest is spot on.

Chris Korman
11-02-2011, 07:06 PM
Nicely composed, with the water crawling over the rocks and under fallen trees. The sky in the top middle is a bit blown out in a harsh way and there is some strange blue coloring in the foliage to the right of the sky.

Morkel Erasmus
11-03-2011, 02:34 AM
I like the compositional flow in the image, Mike.
What time of day was this taken at?
Which HDR software did you use for rendering?

I used to love this kind of look when blending multiple exposures, yet though I still enjoy some shots processed this way I much prefer the "look" one gets with manual exposure blending. It's a tedious process and a steep learning curve but I feel it achieves the purpose of "high dynamic range" imaging much better. I have found that, for times when I am 'lazy', the new "Fusion" algorithm on Photomatix 4 achieves results much more akin to natural blending than traditional "HDR". :e3

Mike Landwehr
11-03-2011, 03:09 PM