View Full Version : Wood Duck Wing Flap

Melissa Groo
10-27-2011, 10:05 AM
Canon EOS-1D Mark IV
Gitzo Tripod/Wimberley

1/1600
ISO 640
500mm

Took this last weekend at the Chagrin ponds, Ohio. I was attending a wood duck workshop with Matthew Studebaker, which I highly recommend. He is a master at getting you in position, at understanding light, reflections, bird behavior. It was a fantastic learning opportunity for me. It didn't hurt that we had 2 lovely days, with plenty of light.
I am just beginning to wade through the couple thousand pics I took, when this one caught my eye. I did a slight crop for comp, lightened a dark area on the left, toned down the brightness of the reflection, did some selective sharpening and noise reduction, and cloned out some specular highlights on the breast.
I hope you like it. C & C very much appreciated.

Randy Stout
10-27-2011, 10:50 AM
Melissa:

Sounds like Sunday was flap city!

Excellent shooting angle, I like the slight tilt of the head towards us, flying crest feathers, and wing extension.

For my eye, the breast is still a bit hot, as is the white patch on the beak.

I might consider running a multiply blend mode on those areas to gently tone them done.

Was nice meeting you, and look forward to more from your workshop.

Cheers

Randy

girisholeti
10-27-2011, 11:20 AM
This is such a beautiful bird and you captured it in a lovely pose. The water drops flying around makes this image. Agree with the whites being a bit hot.

Melissa Groo
10-27-2011, 11:35 AM
Thanks so much for your comments, Randy and Saptagirish. Here is a repost, tried a linear burn on it as per Artie's guide, as I wasn't sure how to do the multiply. Hope it's an improvement!
And yes, Randy, more wood duck shots to follow.... and it was really great to meet you too!

Brendan Dozier
10-27-2011, 02:01 PM
Beautiful capture, Melissa, and very nicely composed. Love the flap pose, light, colors, and nice low angle. Good job on the linear burn, repost look great!