PDA

View Full Version : Preparing Files For Print and Printing Services

Brendan Dozier
10-02-2011, 09:22 PM
I'm new to having images printed for display, looking for advice on preparing files and what to look for (and watch out for) in a professional printing service.
Currently I'm wanting to get some prints (not canvas) in the 8 x 10 size range. Any advice is appreciated, here's a few questions I've had:

It seems most services require a tiff file at 300dpi, but some print from jpeg files - what is the difference? Can you really get a good print from a jpeg?

I have a few tiff files that I processed in photoshop at 240 dpi to start. Will changing the image setting from 240 dpi to 300 dpi mess up that image or prior processing?

I realize that more sharpening is required for larger size files, and know to watch for halos, but is there anything else you should be looking for in the pixels, when sharpening for high quality printing output?

I'm guessing, unless you have prior experience with a printing service, you really need a proof print to work from to accurately assess the image quality, color, and proper amount of sharpening.

Thanks for your help in advance,

- Brendan

Roger Clark
10-03-2011, 03:43 PM
I'm new to having images printed for display, looking for advice on preparing files and what to look for (and watch out for) in a professional printing service.
Currently I'm wanting to get some prints (not canvas) in the 8 x 10 size range. Any advice is appreciated, here's a few questions I've had:

It seems most services require a tiff file at 300dpi, but some print from jpeg files - what is the difference? Can you really get a good print from a jpeg?

Hi Brendan,

Yes, you can make a great print from a jpeg, as long as it is high quality.

I have a few tiff files that I processed in photoshop at 240 dpi to start. Will changing the image setting from 240 dpi to 300 dpi mess up that image or prior processing?