PDA

View Full Version : Stud Muffin

Marina Scarr
09-09-2011, 07:34 PM
This is my first attempt ever at converting a photo to B & W and felt this wild black stallion on the dunes was a good candidate. He was standing guard over his mare and young foal from atop the dune while they were feeding below. This was photographed on the Outerbanks of NC.

I TOTALLY winged it in PS (couldn't even duplicate what I did here if I wanted to) but like the outcome. I find this capture to be more powerful in B & W.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Canon 1D3, Canon 100-400L IS
F8, 1/1250sec, ISO 400, manual mode
Handheld

Marina Scarr
www.marinascarrphotography.com (http://www.marinascarrphotography.com)

Sid Garige
09-09-2011, 11:18 PM
Like it Marina. Elegant pose and b&W conversion working very well.

Morkel Erasmus
09-10-2011, 03:01 AM
It looks nice Marina, the horse stands out very well...I am wondering if one can get more out of this ito tonal range, so would love for you to post the colour version so I can have a crack at it if you don't mind :)

Marina Scarr
09-10-2011, 07:08 AM
It looks nice Marina, the horse stands out very well...I am wondering if one can get more out of this ito tonal range, so would love for you to post the colour version so I can have a crack at it if you don't mind :)

Here's my original with no changes at all. Thank you for this, Morkel.

Morkel Erasmus
09-10-2011, 08:12 AM
Marina, here's another version for your consideration.

I felt the background in your original came out a bit 'grey' and having it closer to white would make the horse stand out a bit more. I adjusted my B&W filters to achieve the look in the sky I wanted, and then I also dodged the horse a bit for more detail. Lastly I cropped very slightly from the LHS to eliminate a stray grass-end that was prodding into the scene.

What do you think?

Andrew Merwin
09-10-2011, 08:26 AM