PDA

View Full Version : Four Wheeling at Governors Basin, Ourey, Colorado.

Jay Sheinfield
08-30-2011, 12:09 PM
This image was taken way up in the Southern Colorado Rockies, about 11,500 ft. I'm standing on a 4x4 path shelf road, with about 3 feet on either side of the jeep. One straight up, the other straight down...get's the adrenaline flowing.:S3:.
That's beside the point, but this was our first time doing serious off-roading, and it was very cool, if not unnerving.

I wanted to preserve the sunlight and shadow quality of the scene, and also provide some sense of depth to the image, more than the rather 2D quality of the original image. I used Simplify as a base, then multiple layers of differing contrast, light balancing and color work. ...no special filters here, just regular photoshop tools. Would appreciate you letting me know if it worked! I'm not very experienced or consistent at landscape work, so any feedback on composition and such would be helpful.

Yves Guillot
08-30-2011, 01:50 PM
Very well done! I like it a lot1 Looks like a sketch painting. My eyes explore the whole image the way it is composed. Nice work! Congrats!

Mark Fuge
08-30-2011, 04:02 PM
Very nice image and application, Jay.

Hope that was a one way road! :eek3: I won't try it, as that is not my forte, but congrads on surviving the ride!

Like the texture and colors of this. Well done.

denise ippolito
08-30-2011, 04:51 PM
Jay, I think the Simplify adds a nice painterly look to the image. Excellent finishing touches. The composition is inviting-well done!:S3:

John Storjohann
08-30-2011, 05:00 PM